Flag Day is June 14th

On June 14, 1777, the Continental Congress passed the first Flag Act, which stated that the new flag of the United States be made of thirteen red and white stripes, and that the union be thirteen white stars in a blue field.

Today the flag consists of thirteen horizontal stripes, seven red alternating with six white. The stripes represent the original 13 colonies, and the stars represent the 50 states of the Union.

Categories: newsletter